Astrology: 12 Zodiac Signs and Dates, Traits Archive

Astrology is the ancient study of the movements of the planets and other celestial bodies and the impact they have on people’s lives. Throughout history, astrology was perceived, accepted, and practiced in many countries but in various different ways.

The first testimonies of astrology were found some 4,000 years ago and include astronomical observations, calculations of solar and lunar eclipses as well as astrological predictions. The oldest birth chart of an individual dates back to 410 B.C.E. in Babylon. Ancient people believed that the stars were the messengers of everything that happens on Earth. However, since Babylon, astrology has certainly evolved and followed the course of human progress, technical discoveries and increased knowledge.

Using the exact birth time and location of the individual, astrologers can erect a natal chart that no one else has. Astrology is a great tool that can determine the individual’s personality traits, strengths, weaknesses, and future potentials. However, astrology is a complex system and it’s much more than the signs we were born under and the astrology signs meanings. Each planet has its own unique characteristics and its own rulership over the different zodiac signs. The twelve zodiac signs are associated with the four elements of Water, Air, Earth and Fire and they have qualities that can be Cardinal, Mutable or Fixed. There are twelve sun signs, so each element has three signs.

The four elements refer to the vital forces (or energies) that form the entire creation that is commonly perceived by humans. The birth chart of an individual is drawn for the exact moment of birth when we establish our lifelong union with cosmic energies. The four elements namely Water, Air, Earth, and Fire represent different types of energies that work within every human being.

Water – Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Water signs are emotional, moody, private, spiritual and compassionate. Water signs are extremely sensitive, intuitive and they feel more intensely than the other zodiac signs.

Air – Libra, Aquarius, Gemini

Air signs are curious, detached, social, aloof and distant. These people are smart thinkers who tend to intellectualize their feelings and expectations. They are alert, communicative, perceptive and see all sides of the situation.

Fire – Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Fire signs are impulsive, confident, energetic, spontaneous, passionate and impatient. These people are enthusiastic, creative, courageous and have a lively imagination. Fire signs are strong, fun and possess a tremendous zest for life.

Earth – Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo

Earth signs tend to be practical, reliable, grounded, realistic and cautious. These people are dependable and react slowly and quietly. They don’t take big risks and prefer a sure thing. They are very conservative but materialistic and always have their eyes on the prize.

Each of these four elements manifests in the three qualities: Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable. Combining the elements with these qualities produces the twelve primary patterns of energy which are commonly known as the signs of the Zodiac.

Horoscope Sign Dates

Aries Mar. 21 – April 19
Taurus April 20 – May 20
Gemini May 21 – June 21
Cancer June 22 – July 22
Leo July 23 – Aug. 22
Virgo Aug. 23 – Sept. 22
Libra Sept. 23 – Oct. 23
Scorpio Oct. 24 – Nov. 21
Sagittarius Nov. 22 – Dec. 21
Capricorn Dec. 22 – Jan. 19
Aquarius Jan. 20 – Feb. 18
Pisces Feb. 19 – Mar. 20